Misfortunate Monday.

This week, I had such a epitomical Monday I thought I would describe it here. I am almost at a loss for words. I want to say that it was that it was off the chain, but I feel like it’s been a few years since that phrase was in vogue. What’s the current thing?

It all started when I was late for work (of course,) and dropped a deviled egg on my shoe. It made an almost satisfying splat, and the filling radiated in a perfect sunburst pattern once it bounced from my toe to the floor. Truly. It was a thing of beauty.

I should have had my suspicions at this point, but blissfully ignorant, I wiped the yolk and proceeded on my way. I did start my commute with a little bit of trepidation, though — the previous afternoon, my muffler came apart. But the hubs had clamped it back together pending a more permanent fix, and we were thinking it would hold for at least a few days.

Not so. I listened with interest for the twenty minutes that it took for the pipe to fully sever once again, and roared into town. Good morning, Madison! I have arrived!

I logged into my workstation, and attempted to retrieve files from the bank’s website to start my daily reconciliations. Oddly, the files hadn’t dropped yet. Huh, thought I. This hasn’t happened before….Well, maybe they’ll show up in an hour or two.

Meanwhile, I beheld the twenty-five stacks of items on my desk that, at the end of last week, were all waiting either for someone to respond to an e-mail or tech support to, ah, support before I could proceed. One of them was actually at a point where I could continue! I began processing e-pay refunds.

Not five refunds into the stack, the IT department came running in the door. “Who’s doing the refunds! We’re having an error message!”

Me, guys. My life is an error message.

So we looked at that for awhile. I won’t bore you with the details.

Circling back to those bank files, though, they never did show up. Eventually, on the recommendation of IT, I e-mailed an important accounting person at a different agency to see if anyone knew what was going on. She responded. The world was CCed.

And a couple hours later, I realized that Monday was a bank holiday. Of course there would be no files.

Ha. Oops. Today, I was still getting responses to that message, letting me know that Monday was a bank holiday. They may have been typing in a sardonic tone. Or it could have been my imagination. Let’s just say, there were no smilies to soften the blow.

I feel like I’m forgetting some aspects of this most misfortunate Monday. Assuredly, I did have another rip-roaring commute to look forward to at the end of the day. . . .

But all good stories come to an end. And here we are.

2 thoughts on “Misfortunate Monday.

Leave a comment